The male climbers finished second, the female fifth at the SBC Championships

Table of Contents

FOLEY, Ala. – The App State men’s cross country team finished second overall with 46 points Friday at the Sun Belt Championships in Foley, Ala. The women’s team placed fifth overall with 117 points. Six Mountaineers collected All-SBC honors for their performances on the field.

Juniors set the pace for climbers in the 8 km race Oliver Wilson-Cook, who placed fifth overall with a time of 24:28.2 and earned first-team All-SBC honors. Graduate Ryan Brown was next over the line and clocked 24:40.9. Brown was followed by sophomores Garrett Bivens (24:44.9, 9th place), and Chase Burrell (24:45.2, 10th place). Brown, Bivens and Burrell collected second team all-conference honors. Junior Ryan Teuscherwho placed 14th with a time of 25:07.8, earning third-team all-conference.

South Alabama’s Kirami Yego won the individual crown in the men’s 8K with a time of 22:55.9, and Arkansas State captured the team title with 32 points.

Mountaineers set the pace for the second-year women’s 5K Linnea Maynard, who posted a personal best time of 17:43.5 and placed 15th overall. Maynard finished the race with third-team all-conference honors. Fellow sophomore Karsyn Kane took 19th place with a personal best of 18:06.7. Senior Madison Christy and junior Annie Amundsen also PR’d with times of 18:74.6 and 18:23.3 for 24th and 26th.

SBC newcomer Southern Miss won the team title in the women’s race with a score of 44 points, and Coastal Carolina’s Molly Jones took the individual crown with a meet-record 16:29.5.

Up Next

The NCAA Southeast Regional is set for Nov. 11 in Louisville, Ky.

Ranking of teams
Men’s 8K Championship | Ranking of teams

1 Arkansas State – 32 points
2. Application status – 46 points
3. South Alabama – 58 points
4. Marshall – 97 points
5. Louisiana – 139 points
6. ULM – 190 points
7. Coastal Carolina – 210 points
8. Troy – 217 points
9. Texas State – 229 points

Women’s 5K Championship | Ranking of teams

1 Southern Miss – 44 points
2. Arkansas State – 71 points
3. James Madison – 83 points
4. Marshall – 104 points
5. Application status – 117 points

6. Coastal Carolina – 155 points
7. South Alabama – 203 points
8. ULM – 210 points
9. Louisiana – 220 points
10. Troy – 288 points
11. Texas State – 295 points
12. Georgia Southern – 343 points
13. Georgia State – 349 points

2022 Sun Belt Male Runner of the Year: Kirami Yego, South Alabama

2022 Sun Belt Women’s Runner of the Year: Molly Jones, Coastal Carolina

2022 Men’s First Team All-Conference
Kirami Yego, South Alabama
Teagan Flanagan, South Alabama
Grayson Young, Arkansas State
Dawson Mayberry, Arkansas State
Oliver Wilson-CookApplication status

2022 Men’s Second Team All-Conference
Jacob Pyeatt, Arkansas State
Nati Enright, Arkansas State
Ryan BrownApplication status
Garrett BivensApplication status
Chase BurrellApplication status

2022 Men’s Third Team All-Conference
Evan White, Marshall
Rylan Brown, Arkansas State
Nathan Herbst, Arkansas State
Ryan TeuscherApplication status
Ethan Mychajlonka, Arkansas State

2022 Women’s First Team All-Conference
Molly Jones, Coastal Carolina
Sophie Daigle, Louisiana
Oliwia Wawrzyniak, Southern Miss
Abby Herring, Marshall
Isabela Ross, Southern Miss

2022 Women’s Second Team All-Conference
Miranda Stanhope, James Madison
Jaybe Shufelberger, Arkansas State
Sophie Leathers, Arkansas State
Erin Phelps, Southern Miss
Adele Magaud, South Alabama

2022 Women’s Third Team All-Conference
Smilla Kolbe, Southern Miss
Kylee Mastin, Marshall
Gabriella Garcia, James Madison
Sofia Terenziani, James Madison
Linnea MaynardApplication status


Leave a Comment